Blog Update

Let’s get this show back on the road.

So… it’s been a while. 

A long while, to be honest.

I have had a bit of an up and down year since my last post. But I won’t get into that.

Writing, yes, that thing. I have started bringing myself back into performing poetry again. I was asked to be a part of Anerki at The Font in Leicester when I was down there for UniSlam. It was my first poetry performance in over 18 months, and you could tell. I was a bit all over the place and out of rhythm. I felt like I disappointed after being asked to perform. But they were absolutely lovely and was a great environment, so hopefully I’ll be asked back in the future (and I can do a better effort).

It wasn’t awful, by any means, but it’s hard when you’re a writer and performer and you put in a bad performance. But, if anything, it inspired me to keep going to spoken word nights and writing, and, thankfully, I have finally gotten round to visiting a local spoken word, poetry, and music night in Carlisle. It’s called Speakeasy and I got introduced to it by Nick Pemberton, who runs the night and the poetry breakfast at the Carlisle Borderlines Festival. It’s at a lovely cafĂ© called Foxes, and it was a great, relaxing night.

It’s on monthly, and I absolutely loved it. I was a lot stronger and only performed a couple of poems that time. I stuck to older work over new ones, so I could build up confidence and get back on track. I intend to go back with others and rework poems, and get back into performing properly. Watch this space.

I’m going to get back into this, too. It’s been too long and blogging is always fun. So feel free to ask me questions, give me ideas for my blog, or just keep in touch.

That is all for now, see you guys soon.

Corey x

Standard

Leave a comment